Skip to main content
UNCG Logo

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: moved
(165 results)



Display: 20

    • [Yum Yum Ice Cream Shop]

    • 1974-02
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Yum Yum Ice Cream Shop, located on the corner of Spring Garden Street and Forest Street, February 1974. Photo taken after Yum Yum had moved across Spring Garden Street to allow for the construction of the the Mossman Administration Building....
    • Oral history interview with Victoria Guthrie, 2008

    • 2008-07-08
    • OH006 Preserving Our History: Rotary Club of Greensboro
    • Victoria Guthrie was born in Bradford, Pennsylvania. She moved to North Carolina with her husband in the early 1970s so she could complete her undergraduate degree at Guilford College. Guthrie discusses her nearly thirty-year career with the...
    • Oral history interview with Vickie Kilimanjaro, 2008

    • 2008-04-04
    • OH006 Preserving Our History: Rotary Club of Greensboro
    • Vickie Kilimanjaro was born in Enfield, North Carolina, and attended North Carolina College (now North Carolina Central University) in Durham. Kilimanjaro married and moved to Greensboro in 1956. She discusses her career in library science, her...
    • [McIver Statue]

    • 1966-10
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Two students seated on the base of the McIver Statue in front of Jackson Library are pictured on October 1966. The statue is painted green with a gold jacket. Spencer Residence Hall is visible on the right.
    • [Carnegie Library]

    • 1955
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Three students walking outside the Carnegie Library in 1955.
    • [Post office]

    • 1949
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Three students pose in front of the mailboxes in the post office in the Students' Building in 1949. Back of photo reads "post office the first place the freshman learn." The Students' Building housed the post office from 1932-1949. Prior to 1910,...
    • [Church reminiscence, College Place United Methodist Church]

    • 1905
    • CC005 College Place United Methodist Church Archives
    • This two page handwritten note from an unidentified lifelong member of College Place United Methodist Church, details how she/he moved with their parents to Greensboro in 1905 and began attending the Spring Garden Chapel. There are other memories...
    • Oral History Interview with Carolyn Mark by William Chafe

    • 1974-10-10
    • RL.00207 William Henry Chafe Oral History Collection
    • This transcript of an October 10, 1974, interview conducted by William Chafe with Carolyn Mark primarily documents Ms. Mark's recollections as a student at North Carolina A&T State University and as an employee of the Greensboro Chamber of...
    • [Elliott Student Union Book Store]

    • 1965-09
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This September 1965 photograph shows students standing in the checkout line at the book store inside Elliott Student Union. The Book Store was located on the first floor of Administration Building from 1925 until 1932. From 1932 until 1949, it was...
    • Arthur E. Ledbetter Register

    • 1902-1924
    • Mss. Coll. 4 Arthur E. Ledbetter Register
    • This register contains a biographical listing of physicians who practiced in Greensboro up until 1924, when the work was compiled by A. E. Ledbetter, himself a Greensboro physician. Arthur Erastus Ledbetter was born near Jamestown, North Carolina...
    • [Guilford Dormitory, McIver House, and Teague House]

    • 1900
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This photograph, looking down College Avenue, shows Guilford Dormitory, McIver House and the Teague House. This twenty-two room dormitory was built in 1892 and was originally called Wooden Dormitory. It was then nicknamed “Midway” after the...
    • [Elliott Hall Book Store]

    • 1965-09
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This photograph shows women browsing inside the bookstore in the Elliott Student Union in September 1965. The Book Store was located on the first floor of Administration Building from 1925 until 1932. From 1932 until 1949, it was situated in the...
    • [Students' Building]

    • 1920
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • This photograph shows the Students' Building as seen from across College Avenue, circa 1920.
    • [McIver Statue]

    • 1990
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This photograph shows the McIver Statue in the 1990s. The statue of Charles Duncan McIver, sculpted by French-born artist Frederick W. Ruckstuhl, was dedicated on Founders Day, October 5, 1912. A duplicate statue stands on the capitol grounds in...
    • [Faculty Center]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This photograph shows the Faculty Center with the Jackson Library Tower visible in the background. The Faculty Center, designed by Northrup & O’Brien of Winston-Salem, North Carolina, was built in 1948 and originally housed the campus’ Soda...
    • [Post office]

    • 1913
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • This photograph shows the Campus Post Office located in the basement of the Administration Building from 1910 to 1932. The photograph appeared in the Carolinian 1913 on page eiighty-four. Prior to 1910, mail was distributed through the dormitories....

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK