Skip to main content
UNCG Logo

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: demolished
(36 results)



Display: 20

    • [Hotel Clegg]

    • 1903
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of the Hotel Clegg, located at 358-368 South Elm Street in Greensboro. The hotel opened in 1891 and was demolished in 1961.

      Image taken from "Progressive Greensboro: The Gate City of North Carolina"
    • [Bridge over Walker Avenue]

    • 1907
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Students in white dresses march over the bridge at Walker Avenue, early 1900s. The bell can be seen to the right.
    • Elm Street front [Hotel Clegg]

    • 1908
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of the Hotel Clegg, located at 358-368 South Elm Street in Greensboro. The hotel opened in 1891 and was demolished in 1961.

      Image taken from "Commercial history of the State of North Carolina"
    • Interior of office and lobby [Hotel Clegg]

    • 1908
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Interior of office and lobby of the Hotel Clegg, located at 358-368 South Elm Street in Greensboro. The hotel opened in 1891 and was demolished in 1961.

      Image taken from "Commercial history of the State of North Carolina"
    • [Price School scrapbook, 1922-1984]

    • 1922-1984
    • Mss. Coll. 142 A.H. Peeler Papers
    • This scrapbook documents the history of the J.C. Price Elementary School in the Warnersville community of Greensboro, North Carolina. The school opened in 1922 as am educational facility for African American children during segregation. Abraham...
    • [Walker Avenue Bridge]

    • 1925
    • UA110 Postcards Collection
    • This postcard shows the Walker Avenue Bridge with cars passing underneath. The inscription reads, "The Bridge, North Carolina College for Women, Greensboro, N.C."
    • [Students' Building]

    • 1927
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Students Building, showing the bell and bridge over Walker Avenue, prior to 1927. The cornerstone of the Students Building was laid in 1902. Contributions from students, faculty, and visiting speakers allowed the completion of the three story...
    • [Walker Avenue Bridge]

    • 1928
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • New bridge over Walker Avenue, built in the Fall of 1928. Photograph by George C. Miller of The Art Shop.
    • [Walker Avenue Bridge]

    • 1928
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This photograph shows the Walker Avenue Bridge with the Students' Building in the background. The cornerstone of the Students’ Building was laid in 1902. Contributions from students, faculty, and visiting speakers allowed the completion of the...
    • [Aerial view of campus]

    • 1935
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Aerial view of campus after Old Guilford was demolished in 1935. Spring Garden Street runs diagonally on the left; Walker Avenue diagonal on the right. In the upper right hand corner is the Quadrangle along with the Dining Halls Complex and Spencer...
    • [Aerial view of campus]

    • 1935
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Aerial view of campus after Old Guilford was demolished in 1935. In the upper left hand corner the Steam Plant and Curry Building (Spring Garden Street) can be seen and in the upper left is the Quadrangle. Photo by Frank Turgson, Jr.
    • [Bridge over Walker Avenues]

    • 1940
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • This circa 1940s photograph shows a bus going underneath the Walker Avenue Bridge.
    • [New lobby of Wesley Long Hospital]

    • 1947
    • Martin Studio Collection
    • The opening of a new front section of Wesley Long Hospital at 338 N. Elm St. The hospital had started in a former residence with additions gradually added on at the back. Finally, the house was demolished and a new front section was built. The...
    • [Nurses in new lobby of Wesley Long Hospital]

    • 1947
    • Martin Studio Collection
    • The opening of a new front section of Wesley Long Hospital at 338 N. Elm St. The hospital had started in a former residence with additions gradually added on at the back. Finally, the house was demolished and a new front section was built. The...
    • [Bridge over Walker Avenue]

    • 1948
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the Bridge over Walker Avenue in 1948. The bridge was built in the Fall of 1928.
    • [Demolition of Walker Avenue]

    • 1949
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of a man on a bulldozer working on tearing up the road. "Walker Avenue divided the campus until 1948. It was closed in 1948 from Forest Street to McIver Street to provide space for Walter Clinton Jackson Library and Stone Building (Home...
    • [Construction of the Library]

    • 1949
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • "Oriana McArthur, Class 1950 and Dr. Walter Clinton Jackson, chancellor, standing on bridge on College Ave. over Walker Ave. Jackson Library under construction in background.
    • [Bridge over Walker Avenue]

    • 1949
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of three women observing the area around the bridge before it was demolished around 1949. "Bridge over Walker Ave, ca. 1949, shortly before its' destruction. Walker Ave. was closed across campus in Sept. 1948 and the bridge was...
    • [Interior St. Leo's Hospital bathroom]

    • 1950-05-20
    • Martin Studio Collection
    • May 20, 1950. 9:30 a.m. Photo shows an empty hospital room, with the sink and toilet featured. St. Leo's, a Catholic hospital at the corner of Summit and Bessemer Avenues, was only three or four years from closing because of the 1953 opening of...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK