Skip to main content
UNCG Logo

You've searched: All Collections

  • Source: UA106 Slides Collection
(130 results)



Display: 20

    • [Aerial view of Fountain Plaza]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Aerial view of Fountain Plaza and the entrance to the Dining Hall. The Fountain Plaza opened in 1991. It is located between the Dining Halls and the Quadrangle, and consists of landscaped terraces and a fountain. The Dining Halls complex was built...
    • [Aerial View of Bryan Building]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Aerial view of the Bryan Building. Walker Avenue Parking Deck can be seen behind the building. The Bryan Building, originally called the Business and Economics Building, was designed by architects Baber, Cort & Wood, P.A., and opened in 1980. In...
    • [Aerial view of Tower Village 1 Residence Hall]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Aerial view of Tower Village Residence Hall pictured in the 1990s. Aycock Street runs behind the complex, and Spring Garden Street crosses on the right. This residence hall, located at the corner of Spring Garden Street and Aycock Street was...
    • [Entrance to Foust Building]

    • 2000
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Arched entrance to the Foust Building. This building, designed by Epps & Hackett of Greensboro, North Carolina, was opened in 1892. Two flanking wings were added in 1895. From 1892 to 1908, the building was called Main Building and from 1908 to...
    • [Architectural Drawing of Fountain Plaza]

    • 1990
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Architectural drawing of Fountain Plaza. The Fountain Plaza opened in 1991. It is located between the Dining Halls and the Quadrangle, and consists of landscaped terraces and a fountain.
    • [Architectural Rendering of Alumni House Addition]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Architectural Rendering of the Alumni House Addition, ca. 1995. This building opened in 1937 and is considered an excellent example of neo-Georgian architecture. It was designed by Penrose V. Stout and modeled after Homewood in Baltimore, Maryland....
    • [Jackson Library]

    • 1981-08
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Back of the main building and a portion of the tower of Jackson Library pictured in August 1981. Jackson Library, designed by Northrup O’Brien of Winston-Salem, North Carolina, opened in 1950. In 1960 it was named for Walter Clinton Jackson,...
    • [Bailey Residence Hall]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Bailey Residence Hall as seen from Gray Drive, ca. 2003. The Bailey Residence Hall, designed by Harry Barton, of Greensboro, North Carolina, was opened in 1922. It named in honor of Thomas Bailey. Bailey was an attorney and furniture executive from...
    • [Brown Music Building]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Brown Music Building as seen from Tate Street. This building, originally called the Music Building, was designed by Harry Barton, of Greensboro, North Carolina, and was opened in 1925. In 1960, the building was named in honor of Wade R. Brown, head...
    • [Moore Building Classroom]

    • 1990
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Classroom inside the Moore Building shown in the 1990s. Patient beds are visible in the room along with student desks. This building, originally called Nursing Education Building, was designed by McMinn & Norfleet of Greensboro, North Carolina, and...
    • [Coit Residence Hall]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Coit Residence Hall as viewed from the Quadrangle, ca. 1995. Coit Residence Hall, designed by Harry Barton of Greensboro, North Carolina, was opened in 1923. It was named after Laura Hill Coit (Class of 1896) who taught physical education,...
    • [Curry Building (Spring Garden Street)]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Color close-up of the front of Curry Building as seen in the mid or late 1990s. The Curry Building, located on Spring Garden Street, was designed by Harry Barton of Greensboro, North Carolina. It opened in 1926 to replace the original Curry...
    • [Chancellor's Residence in the snow]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Color photo of the Chancellor's Residence taken around 1995. This building was designed by Harry Barton, of Greensboro, North Carolina. From 1923 until 1945 it was known as the “President’s Residence” and was the official home of the...
    • [Chancellor's Residence]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Color photo of the Chancellor's Residence, taken circa 1995. This building was designed by Harry Barton, of Greensboro, North Carolina. From 1923 until 1945 it was known as the “President’s Residence” and was the official home of the...
    • [Elliott University Center at night]

    • 2001
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Color photograph of Elliott University Center illuminated at night in 2001. This building, designed by Northrup O’Brien of Winston-Salem, North Carolina, opened in 1953. It was named in honor of Harriet Wiseman Elliott who came to the College in...
    • [Cotten Residence Hall]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Cotten Residence Hall as viewed from the Quadrangle in 1995. The Cotten Residence Hall, designed by Harry Barton of Greensboro, North Carolina, opened in 1922. It was named in honor of Sallie Southall Cotten, an advocate of women's rights and a...
    • [Tower Village 1 Residence Hall courtyard]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Courtyard at the center of Tower Village Residence Hall pictured in the 1990s. The water tower can be seen behind the complex. This residence hall, located at the corner of Spring Garden Street and Aycock Street was designed by Little Diversified,...
    • [Dining Hall at night]

    • 1988
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Dining Hall at night before Fountain Plaza was built. The Dining Halls complex was built over a span of thirty-five years. Spencer Dining Hall was built in 1904, West (later Spartan) Dining Hall in 1921, South Dining Hall (later State) in 1924,...
    • [Cone Building]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Entrance of the Anne and Benjamin Cone Building as seen around 1995. The Cone Building, designed by architect Romaldo Giurgola working in conjunction with Boney Architects, of Wilmington, North Carolina, opened in 1989 and was named for Anne...
    • [Bryan Building in the snow]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Entrance to the Bryan Building with snow on the ground. This building, originally called the Business and Economics Building, was designed by architects Baber, Cort & Wood, P.A., and opened in 1980. In 1989, the building was named for Joseph...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK