Skip to main content
UNCG Logo

You've searched: All Collections

  • Source: UA106 Slides Collection
(130 results)



Display: 20

    • [Kiln construction]

    • 1966
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This photograph shows the Kiln under construction which is located beside the McIver building in 1966. The Kiln, built in 1966, is located on the north side of McIver Building and was used by the Art Department until a new kiln was built behind the...
    • [Yum Yum Ice Cream Shop]

    • 1974-02
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Yum Yum Ice Cream Shop, located on the corner of Spring Garden Street and Forest Street, February 1974. Photo taken after Yum Yum had moved across Spring Garden Street to allow for the construction of the the Mossman Administration Building....
    • [McIver Building entrance]

    • 1974-02
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This 1974 photograph shows the entrance to the McIver Building. The McIver Building, designed by J. N. Pease and Company of Raleigh, North Carolina, opened in 1960 and was named in honor of Charles Duncan McIver, founder and first president of the...
    • [Stone Building entrance]

    • 1975
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This 1975 photograph shows the entrance to the Stone Building. The Stone Building consists of two wings. The back wing, designed by Harry Barton of Greensboro, North Carolina, opened in 1928 and was called the Home Economics Building. The front...
    • [Playground of the Curry Child Care Center]

    • 1978
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This 1978 photograph shows children playing on the playground with their teachers. The Curry Child Care Center is located in the new Curry Building and functions as a lab school for the Department of Human Development and Family Studies within the...
    • [Chinese Pagoda Pavilion and Pool at Chinqua-Penn Plantation]

    • 1979-12
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This photograph shows the pavilion and pool located a t the Chinqua-Penn Plantation in December of 1979. The Chinqua-Penn Plantation, near Reidsville, North Carolina, was the home of the late Mr. and Mrs. Jefferson Penn. In 1959, Mrs. Penn gave...
    • [Gates at Chinqua-Penn Plantation]

    • 1979-12
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This December 1979 photograph shows George Hamer at the gates to the Chinqua-Penn Plantation. The Chinqua-Penn Plantation, near Reidsville, North Carolina, was the home of the late Mr. and Mrs. Jefferson Penn. In 1959, Mrs. Penn gave Chinqua-Penn...
    • [Entrance to Chinqua-Penn Plantation]

    • 1979-12
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This photograph shows the entrance to the plantation house at the Chinqua-Penn Plantation in 1979. The Chinqua-Penn Plantation, near Reidsville, North Carolina, was the home of the late Mr. and Mrs. Jefferson Penn. In 1959, Mrs. Penn gave...
    • [Bryan Building]

    • 1980-05
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This May 1980 photograph shows the Bryan Building. This building, originally called the Business and Economics Building, was designed by architects Baber, Cort & Wood, P.A., and opened in 1980. In 1989, the building was named for Joseph McKinley...
    • [Jackson Library circulation desk]

    • 1981
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This 1981 photograph shows library staff at the circulation desk helping a patron. Lucile Kurfirst is in the yellow in the background. Jackson Library, designed by Northrup O’Brien of Winston-Salem, North Carolina, opened in 1950. In 1960 it...
    • [Jackson Library]

    • 1981-08
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Back of the main building and a portion of the tower of Jackson Library pictured in August 1981. Jackson Library, designed by Northrup O’Brien of Winston-Salem, North Carolina, opened in 1950. In 1960 it was named for Walter Clinton Jackson,...
    • [Eberhart Building]

    • 1982-10
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This October 1982 photographs shows the Eberhart Building. This building, designed by Holloway & Reeves of Raleigh, North Carolina, was completed in two stages; the first in 1971 and the other in 1977. From 1972 to 1985, the building was called...
    • [Eberhart Building]

    • 1985
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This circa 1985 photograph shows the Eberhart Building. This building, designed by Holloway & Reeves of Raleigh, North Carolina, was completed in two stages; the first in 1971 and the other in 1977. From 1972 to 1985, the building was called the...
    • [Elliott University Center before renovation]

    • 1985
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This photograph shows the entrance to the Elliott University Center. This building, designed by Northrup O’Brien of Winston-Salem, North Carolina, opened in 1953. It was named in honor of Harriet Wiseman Elliott who came to the College in 1913...
    • [Interior of Bailey Residence Hall]

    • 1986
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This circa 1986 photograph shows two male students in their room in the Bailey Residence Hall . The Bailey Residence Hall, designed by Harry Barton, of Greensboro, North Carolina, was opened in 1922. It named in honor of Thomas Bailey. Bailey was...
    • [Dining Hall at night]

    • 1988
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Dining Hall at night before Fountain Plaza was built. The Dining Halls complex was built over a span of thirty-five years. Spencer Dining Hall was built in 1904, West (later Spartan) Dining Hall in 1921, South Dining Hall (later State) in 1924,...
    • [Interior of Dining Hall]

    • 1988
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Three buffets in the dining hall in 1988 which patrons filling their plates. The Dining Halls complex was built over a span of thirty-five years. Spencer Dining Hall was built in 1904, West (later Spartan) Dining Hall in 1921, South Dining Hall...
    • [Interior of Dining Hall]

    • 1988
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Students eat at tables on the upper level of the dining hall in 1988. The Atrium can be seen below. The Dining Halls complex was built over a span of thirty-five years. Spencer Dining Hall was built in 1904, West (later Spartan) Dining Hall in...
    • [Yum Yum Ice Cream Shop]

    • 1988
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Photograph of people ourside Yum Yum Ice Cream Shop, located on Spring Garden Street, in 1988. In 1922, W. B. Aydlette, Sr. opened the West End Ice Cream Company. Located at the northwest corner of Spring Garden and Forest Streets, it became known...
    • [Petty Building]

    • 1988-12
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This photograph shows the Petty Building in 1988. This building, designed by W. C. Holleyman of Greensboro, North Carolina, opened in 1940. From 1940 to 1960, the building was called the Science Building. In 1960, it was named in honor of Mary...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK