Skip to main content
UNCG Logo

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: on 1957
(171 results)



Display: 20

    • [1957 Banner]

    • 1957
    • UA107 Textile Collection
    • White banner with a blue trim border and hanging cord featuring blue embroidery that reads, "Enter to Learn, Leave to Serve, 1957." The banner measures 21 1/4" L x 20 1/4" W.
    • [1957 Class Jacket]

    • 1954
    • UA107 Textile Collection
    • Navy blue, three button class jacket with white piping and "Enter to Learn, Leave to Serve, Woman's College of the University of North Carolina, 1957," embroidered on the front breast pocket.
    • [Affidavit for reassignment of African American students to all-white schools]

    • 1957-08-28
    • RL.01210 Benjamin Lee Smith Papers
    • This six-page affidavit pertains to the reassignment of six African American students to all-white schools Gillespie Elementary School and Greensboro Senior High in 1957, documenting Greensboro's first sucessful attempt at desegregating it's public...
    • [Alumnae House]

    • 1957-07
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This July 1957 photograph shows the entrance to the Alumnae House. This building opened in 1937 and is considered an excellent example of neo-Georgian architecture. It was designed by Penrose V. Stout and modeled after Homewood in Baltimore,...
    • [Alumnae House]

    • 1954
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • This photograph, taken by A.A. Wilkinson of News Bureau, shows the Alumnae House, as seen from Administration Drive in 1954. It appeared in Pine Needles 1955, on page 23 and Pine Needles 1957 on page 217.
    • [Annual report, Greensboro Chamber of Commerce, 1957]

    • 1957
    • Guilford Vertical Files (Greensboro Public Library)
    • This annual report provides an overview of accomplishments of the 1957 Chamber of Commerce. The report reviews manufacturing and industrial production, agriculture, and civic activities that the Chamber sponsored. The report reviews collaborative...
    • [Back of Carnegie Library]

    • 1913
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the back of the Carnegie Library, circa 1913. The Students Building can be seen in the background across College Avenue.
    • [Carnegie Library]

    • 1905
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the Carnegie Library in 1905.
    • [Carnegie Library]

    • 1913
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the Carnegie Library as it appeared in 1913. The photograph was used in the 1913 issues of the Carolinian of page fifty-one.
    • [Carnegie Library]

    • 1936
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • A photograph of the entrance to the Carnegie Library, after its expansion, taken in the 1930s. The building was enlarged in 1923, and is shown after it was repaired due to damage by fire in 1932.
    • [Carnegie Library]

    • 1950
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the Carnegie Library in 1950. The building is shown here after expansion in 1923, with awnings on the second story windows.
    • [Carnegie Library]

    • 1940
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the Carnegie Library as seen from across College Avenue in 1940. The photograph appeared in Pine Needles 1940 on page eight, and Pine Needles 1943 on page 183.
    • [Carnegie Library]

    • 1955
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Three students walking outside the Carnegie Library in 1955.
    • [Carnegie Library]

    • 1910
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the Carnegie Library at an unknown date.This building, a gift of steel baron Andrew Carnegie, was designed by Hook & Sawyer of Charlotte. It opened in 1905 as the Carnegie Library.
    • [Class of 1927 folder]

    • 1927
    • UA108.3 Class Of Files
    • The Class of 1927 folder contains material pertaining to the 1927 graduating class of North Carolina College for Women (NCCW, now The University of North Carolina at Greensboro)" Included in the folder are printed programs from 1927 commencement...
    • [Class of 1947 folder]

    • 1947
    • UA108.3 Class Of Files
    • The Class of 1947 folder contains material pertaining to the 1947 graduating class of Woman's College of the University of North Carolina (WCUNC, now The University of North Carolina at Greensboro). Included in the folder are programs, speeches,...
    • [Class of 1957 folder]

    • 1957
    • UA108.3 Class Of Files
    • The Class of 1957 folder contains material pertaining to the 1957 graduating class of Woman's College of the University of North Carolina (WCUNC, now The University of North Carolina at Greensboro).
    • [College Avenue]

    • 1957
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This photograph shows students walking down College Avenue outside the Spencer Residence Halls in 1957. The Spencer Residence Hall, designed by W. C. Holleyman of Greensboro, North Carolina, consists of two connecting building; North Spencer...
    • [College Avenue]

    • 1957
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • Students photographed walking in the rain along College Avenue past Spencer Residence Hall in 1957. This photograph appeared in Pine Needles 1957, on page forty-one. College Avenue was designed in the early 1900s by landscape architect Warren Henry...
    • [College Avenue]

    • 1922
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • Looking down College Avenue, circa 1922. On the left is the Students' Building and Spencer residence hall. On the right is the Carnegie Library and Old Curry. College Avenue was designed in the early 1900s by landscape architect Warren Henry...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK