Skip to main content
UNCG Logo

You've searched: All Collections

  • Source: UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
(1429 results)



Display: 20

    • [Dedication of the Tillman-Smart Parlor]

    • 1992-04-20
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • This photograph was taken at the dedication of the Tillman-Smart Parlor in the Shaw Residence Hall on April 20, 1992. In the photograph are (l-r) UNCG Chancellor William E. Moran, JoAnne Smart Drane, and Bettye Tillman's son Ronald Sanders. In...
    • [William Henry Chafe]

    • 1980
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • This is a photpgraph of Dr. William H. Chafe of Duke University, author of the book Civilities and Civil Rights. Chafe completed extensive research on the civil rights movement in Greensboro and recorded numerous oral history interviews with...
    • [Gordon Williams Blackwell]

    • 1960
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • This is a photographic portrait of Gordon Williams Blackwell, chancellor of Woman�s College of the University of North Carolina (now The University of North Carolina at Greensboro)from 1957-1960. Blackwell led the university at the time of the...
    • [Helen Ashby]

    • 1960
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • This is a photographic portrait of Helen Ashby. Ashby was assistant director for the Institute for Child and Family Development at Woman's College of the University of North Carolina at Greensboro (now The University of North Carolina at...
    • [Edward Kidder Graham]

    • 1950
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • This is a photographic portrait of Edward Kidder Graham, chancellor of The Woman's College of The University of North Carolina (now The University of North Carolina at Greensboro) from 1950 to 1956. Graham presided over early desegregation issues...
    • [Otis Arnold Singletary]

    • 1961
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • This is a photograph of Otis Arnold Singletary, chancellor of Woman's College of the University of North Carolina (later The University of North Carolina at Greensboro) from 1961 to 1966. Singletary presided over the college during the 1963 civil...
    • [JoAnne Smart and Bettye Ann Davis Tillman, 1956 ]

    • 1956-09
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • These three black and white photographs taken in the fall of 1956 and depict the first two African American students admitted to the Woman�s College of the University of North Carolina (now The University of North Carolina at Greensboro) . In...
    • [Students in Neo-Black Society lounge]

    • 1971
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • These three black and white photographs depict students in the newly created lounge around 1971. In 1970, UNCG students in the Neo-Black Society successfully petitioned the school to create a lounge for black students. Photographs show...
    • [Alumnae House library]

    • 1947
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Portrait of Dr. Julius I. Foust in the library of the Alumnae House in 1947. It was found on page fifteen of the July 1947 Alumnae Newsletter. Photograph was taken by Wm. A. Roberts Studio. This building opened in 1937 and is considered an...
    • [Amphitheatres]

    • 1941
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • This photograph shows the Amphitheatre in the snow in 1940s.
    • [Aerial view of campus]

    • 1927
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Aerial view of campus looking down Walker Avenue in 1926 or 1927. Photo taken after old Curry Building burned in March 1926, but before Mary Foust residence Hall erected in 1927. Prominent are the six residential halls built in 1922 around the quad...
    • [Interior of Carnegie Library]

    • 1923
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • The main lobby of the Carnegie Library, pictured in 1923, after the expansion. The back of photo reads "Main lobby, looking toward stacks. Cabinet to left once used for periodicals, but not suitable, so shelves were arranged in room to left. (Per.)...
    • [Aerial view of campus]

    • 1927
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • View of campus looking down College Avenue from the air in 1926 or 1927. Photo taken after old Curry Building burned in March 1926, but before Mary Foust residence Hall erected in 1927. In the center of the photo is Spencer Hall and the Dining Hall...
    • [Aerial view of campus]

    • 1927
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • View of campus from the air in 1927, with College Avenue running diagonally. Foust (Administration) Building is in the center, the Quadrangle is is in upper left corner and the Spencer residence hall and dining hall can be seen behind the Foust...
    • [Aerial view of campus]

    • 1927
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Aerial view of the North Carolina College for Women (NCCW) campus, with Spring Garden Street running vertically on the right and College Avenue horizontally center. Photo taken after the West Wing of Curry Building (center, far right) and the...
    • [Aerial view of campus]

    • 1924
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Aerial view of the North Carolina College for Women (now the University of North Carolina at Greensboro) taken in 1924 from the southeast. Note the Music Building (Old) under construction on Tate Street.
    • [Aerial view of campus]

    • 1935
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Aerial view of campus after Old Guilford was demolished in 1935. Spring Garden Street runs diagonally on the left; Walker Avenue diagonal on the right. In the upper right hand corner is the Quadrangle along with the Dining Halls Complex and Spencer...
    • [Aerial view of campus]

    • 1944
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Aerial view of campus between 1941 and 1948. The lake (top right) was completed in 1941 and then drained in 1954. In the center is the Dining Halls Complex and to the left of that is the Quadrangle.
    • [Aerial view of campus]

    • 1935
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Aerial view of campus after Old Guilford was demolished in 1935. In the upper left hand corner the Steam Plant and Curry Building (Spring Garden Street) can be seen and in the upper left is the Quadrangle. Photo by Frank Turgson, Jr.
    • [Aerial view of campus]

    • 1947
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Aerial view of campus, looking down College Avenue (center), in 1947. The Foust Building and Carnegie Library (now the Forney Building) can be seen in the center.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK