Skip to main content
UNCG Logo

You've searched: All Collections

  • Source: UA103 Negatives Collection
(157 results)



Display: 20

    • [Alumnae House in the snow]

    • 1949
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This photograph show the Alumnae House and College Avenue after a snowstorm in the winter of 1949. This building opened in 1937 and is considered an excellent example of neo-Georgian architecture. It was designed by Penrose V. Stout and modeled...
    • [Alumnae House]

    • 1954
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • Spring 1954 photograph of the Alumnae House on College Avenue. This building opened in 1937 and is considered an excellent example of neo-Georgian architecture. It was designed by Penrose V. Stout and modeled after Homewood in Baltimore, Maryland....
    • [Alumnae House]

    • 1957-07
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This July 1957 photograph shows the entrance to the Alumnae House. This building opened in 1937 and is considered an excellent example of neo-Georgian architecture. It was designed by Penrose V. Stout and modeled after Homewood in Baltimore,...
    • [Students Anniversary Plaza]

    • 1968-09
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This September 1968 photograph shows the Students Anniversary Plaza on the corner of College Avenue and Spring Garden Street which housed the University Bell. In 1967, on the occasion of the University’s 75th anniversary, the student body voted...
    • [Aycock Auditorium  entrance hall]

    • 1967-01
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • Entrance hall of Aycock Auditorium pictured in January 1967. Aycock Auditorium, designed by Harry Barton, of Greensboro, North Carolina, was opened in 1927. It was named in honor of North Carolina Governor Charles B. Aycock in 1928. Since its...
    • [Aycock Auditorium, interior]

    • 1975-10
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This October 1975 photograph shows the view of Aycock Auditorium from the stage before it was renovated. Aycock Auditorium, designed by Harry Barton, of Greensboro, North Carolina, was opened in 1927. It was named in honor of North Carolina...
    • [Aycock Auditorium, interior]

    • 1975-10
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • View of Aycock Auditorium stage from the audience, before renovation, pictured in October 1975. Aycock Auditorium, designed by Harry Barton, of Greensboro, North Carolina, was opened in 1927. It was named in honor of North Carolina Governor Charles...
    • [Baptist Center]

    • 1968-06
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • Baptist Center, June 1960.
    • [Bookstore]

    • 1954
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This 1954 photograph shows the book store inside the Elliott Student Union. The Book Store was located on the first floor of Administration Building from 1925 until 1932. From 1932 until 1949, it was situated in the Students’ Building. In 1949,...
    • [Center for Continuing Education for Women]

    • 1969-08
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This 1969 photograph shows the Center for Continuing Education for Women. Formerly a private home, the building was owned by the University when the first floor was used by the Center for Continuing Education for Women. This program provided...
    • [College Avenue from Curry Building]

    • 1950
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This 1950 photograph shows the view of College Avenue from stairs of Curry Building across Spring Garden Street. College Avenue was designed in the early 1900s by landscape architect Warren Henry Manning to be the central artery of the campus. It...
    • [Curry Building (Spring Garden Street)]

    • 1955
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This photograph shows the Curry Building as seen from the park across Spring Garden Street in the 1950s. The Curry Building, located on Spring Garden Street, was designed by Harry Barton of Greensboro, North Carolina. It opened in 1926 to replace...
    • [Curry Cottage]

    • 1949-02
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This photograph shows the entrance to the Curry Cottage. The Curry Cottage, opened in 1948 on the Curry School grounds, was used by Curry School home economics students and Woman’s College home economics majors. For three years starting in 1968,...
    • [West and South Dining Halls]

    • 1925
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • View of West and South Dining Halls pictured in the mid-1920s. The Dining Halls complex was built over a span of thirty-five years. Spencer Dining Hall was built in 1904, West (later Spartan) Dining Hall in 1921, South Dining Hall (later State)...
    • [Interior of Dining Hall]

    • 1957
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This 1957 photograph shows students lining up to get their food inside the Dining Hall. The Dining Halls complex was built over a span of thirty-five years. Spencer Dining Hall was built in 1904, West (later Spartan) Dining Hall in 1921, South...
    • [Second floor lobby inside the Elliott Student Union]

    • 1956
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This photograph shows students standing beside and mantle and two other people at a desk in the lobby on the second floor of the Elliott Student Union in 1956. This building, designed by Northrup O’Brien of Winston-Salem, North Carolina, opened...
    • [College Avenue]

    • 1957
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This photograph shows students walking down College Avenue outside the Spencer Residence Halls in 1957. The Spencer Residence Hall, designed by W. C. Holleyman of Greensboro, North Carolina, consists of two connecting building; North Spencer...
    • [Alumnae House at night]

    • 1954
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This photograph of the Alumnae Hous at night appeared in the 1954 Pine Needles on page forty-seven.This building opened in 1937 and is considered an excellent example of neo-Georgian architecture. It was designed by Penrose V. Stout and modeled...
    • [Aycock Auditorium,1958]

    • 1958-03
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This March 1958 photograph shows the Aycock Auditorium, as seen from Tate Street. Aycock Auditorium, designed by Harry Barton, of Greensboro, North Carolina, was opened in 1927. It was named in honor of North Carolina Governor Charles B. Aycock in...
    • [Aycock Auditorium]

    • Undated
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This photograph of the Aycock Auditorium shows the Spring Garden Street entrance to the building. Aycock Auditorium, designed by Harry Barton, of Greensboro, North Carolina, was opened in 1927. It was named in honor of North Carolina Governor...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK