Skip to main content
UNCG Logo

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: torn
(32 results)



Display: 20

    • [Anonymous Postcard to Chancellor Singletary]

    • 1963-05-17
    • UA2.7 Otis Arnold Singletary Records, 1961-1966
    • This anonymous postcard was sent to Chancellor Otis Singletary of Woman's College of the University of North Carolina (WCUNC). It reads "If what we read is true about the actions of some of the women there, the place should be closed and torn...
    • [Disassembled stage]

    • 1890-1910
    • Photo Collection -- Bernard M. Cone Photograph Albums
    • The picnic stage in the process of being torn down, after the Cone company Fourth of July picnic.
    • St. Leo's hospital of the Sisters of Charity

    • 1904-1905
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of St. Leo's hospital, located at Summit Avenue near Bessemer Avenue in Greensboro. St. Leo's opened in 1906 and closed in 1954. The campus served as a Catholic high school until it was torn down in 1968.

      Image taken from...
    • St. Leo's hospital

    • 1908
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of St. Leo's hospital, located at Summit Avenue near Bessemer Avenue in Greensboro. St. Leo's opened in 1906 and closed in 1954. The campus served as a Catholic high school until it was torn down in 1968.

      Image taken from...
    • St. Leo's Hospital, Greensboro

    • 1924
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of St. Leo's hospital, located at Summit Avenue near Bessemer Avenue in Greensboro. St. Leo's opened in 1906 and closed in 1954. The campus served as a Catholic high school until it was torn down in 1968.
    • O. Henry Hotel

    • 1917
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of the O. Henry Hotel, located at North Elm Street at Belle Meade Avenue (now Bellemeade Street) in Greensboro. The hotel opened in 1919 and closed around 1977. It was torn down in 1979 for a parking structure.
    • Pomona Cotton Mills

    • 1917
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of the Pomona Cotton Mills, located at what is now Merritt Drive in Pomona, west of city in Greensboro. The mill later became a manufacturing facility for Western Electric and was subsequently used as an outlet mall. It was torn down...
    • St Leo's Hospital

    • 1917
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of St. Leo's hospital, located at Summit Avenue near Bessemer Avenue in Greensboro. St. Leo's opened in 1906 and closed in 1954. The campus served as a Catholic high school until it was torn down in 1968.
    • [Engraving of Greensboro Female College]

    • 1885
    • Guilford Vertical Files (Greensboro Public Library)
    • An 1885 engraving of Greensboro Female College along with a clipping featuring that same image with a partly torn statement by President T. M. Jones.
    • [Broadside for Theatre Royal, Drury Lane, "William Tell"]

    • 1831-01-24
    • MSS255 Robert C. Hansen Performing Arts Collection
    • Theatre Royal, Drury Lane Broadside for the evening of Monday, January 24, 1831. The broadside is printed on thin rag paperstock which is worn and torn slightly around the edges. The typeset is letterpress and lists two pieces. The first piece is...
    • [Autograph of Charlotte Cushman]

    • 1844-11-23
    • MSS255 Robert C. Hansen Performing Arts Collection
    • Autograph of Charlotte Cushman given on Nov. 23, 1844 in Liverpool, England. It accompanies a quotation she also wrote from Longfellow's 'Hyperion.' The quotation and autograph are written in ink on pink stationery that looks to have been torn out...
    • [Sketch of Curry Building (College Avenue) ruins]

    • 1930
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Sketch of Old Curry Building Ruins from cover of 1930 commencement invitation. The Curry Building, located on College Avenue, opened in 1902. It was named in honor of Jabez Lamar Monroe Curry, who advocated for the establishment of the State Normal...
    • [Yum Yum Ice Cream Shop]

    • 1988
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Photograph of people ourside Yum Yum Ice Cream Shop, located on Spring Garden Street, in 1988. In 1922, W. B. Aydlette, Sr. opened the West End Ice Cream Company. Located at the northwest corner of Spring Garden and Forest Streets, it became known...
    • [Yum Yum Ice Cream Shop]

    • 1974-02
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • Yum Yum Ice Cream Shop, located on the corner of Spring Garden Street and Forest Street, February 1974. Photo taken after Yum Yum had moved across Spring Garden Street to allow for the construction of the the Mossman Administration Building....
    • [Outdoor Gymnasium]

    • 1924
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the Outdoor Gymnasium, as seen looking towards the northwest, prior to 1925. The back of photograph reads "Measurements of Outdoor Gym: 90'8" long 51'2" wide 20' to top of eaves - Heavy ducking rolls up/down. Penciled on letter of...
    • [Bryan Building]

    • 1980
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Construction of Business and Economics Building, circa 1980.
    • [McIver house]

    • 1900
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • This circa 1900 photograph shows the McIver House as seen from College Avenue with someone standing on the porch. This two-story, ten-room house was built in 1892 on the southwest corner of College Avenue and Spring Garden Street for President...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK