Skip to main content
UNCG Logo

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: named
(756 results)



Display: 20

    • Oral history interview with Hilda Weil Wallerstein, 1991 [text/print transcript]

    • 1991-05-16
    • OH003 UNCG Centennial Oral History Project;
    • Hilda Weil Wallerstein (1905-1996) graduated in 1926 with a degree in physical education from the North Carolina College for Women, now The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. In 1988, she received the Alumni Distinguished Service Award for...
    • Oral history interview with Kathleen Hawkins, 1976 [text/print transcript]

    • 1976-01-22
    • OH007 UNCG Alumni Association Oral History Program Collection, 1972-1979
    • Kathleen Pettit Hawkins (1902-1988) was a member of the Commercial Class of 1920 at the North Carolina College for Women, now The University of North Carolina at Greensboro [UNCG]. She began working at the college in 1920 as secretary to Laura Hill...
    • Oral History interview with C.J. Gray Grafton Scarlet, 2015

    • 2015-07-27
    • WV0590 C.J. Gray Grafton Scarlet Papers
    • Primarily documents the life of CJ Gray Grafton Scarlet and her service with the United States Marine Corps.

      Scarlet recalls growing up on various military bases throughout the United States, as well as in Okinawa, Japan, and how those...
    • Oral History Interview with Hobart Jarrett by William Chafe

    • 1975
    • RL.00207 William Henry Chafe Oral History Collection
    • This history interview conducted by William Chafe circa 1975 with Hobart Jarrett primarily documents Jarrett's involvement in Greensboro business desegregation in the 1960s.

      Jarrett describes at length his background, education, and...
    • [Architectural Rendering of Cone Building]

    • 1988-01
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Color architectural rendering of the Anne and Benjamin Cone Building, circa 1987. The Cone Building, designed by architect Romaldo Giurgola working in conjunction with Boney Architects, of Wilmington, North Carolina, opened in 1989 and was named...
    • [Architectural Rendering of Cone Building]

    • 1988
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Architectural rendering of the Anne and Benjamin Cone Building, circa 1987. The Cone Building, designed by architect Romaldo Giurgola working in conjunction with Boney Architects, of Wilmington, North Carolina, opened in 1989 and was named for Anne...
    • [Ragsdale-Mendenhall Residence Hall]

    • 1960
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • This circa 1960 photograph shows the Ragsdale-Mendenhall Residence Halls from Gray Drive. The Ragsdale Residence Hall, designed by Northrup & O’Brien of Winston-Salem, North Carolina, opened in 1950 and was named in honor of Virginia Ragsdale,...
    • [Students at Fountain Plaza]

    • 1995
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the fountain and atrium with Mendenhall, Gray and Cotton residence halls pictured in the background. The Fountain Plaza opened in 1991. It is located between the Dining Halls and the Quadrangle, and consists of landscaped terraces and...
    • [Cone Building]

    • 1995
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the Cone Building. The Cone Building, designed by architect Romaldo Giurgola working in conjunction with Boney Architects, of Wilmington, North Carolina, opened in 1989 and was named for Anne Wortham Cone (Class of 1935) and her...
    • [Front Entrance of Hayes-Taylor YMCA]

    • 1939
    • CC015 Hayes-Taylor YMCA Archives
    • The first Hayes-Taylor YMCA building, with entrance at 1101 East Market Street, opened on December 31, 1939, at what was then the corner of East Market and Bennett Streets. It was named after two long time employees of the Ceasar Cone family,...
    • [Letter from a Keeley Institute patient]

    • 1905-06-07
    • Misc. Coll.
    • A letter from a patient, perhaps named Charles, to a recipient named Carrie. The letter is on Keeley Institute stationary.
    • [Weatherspoon Art Gallery]

    • 1990
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Patrons viewing an exhibit in the Weatherspoon Art Gallery in 1990. The Weatherspoon Art Museum was founded in 1941 and named in honor of Elizabeth McIver Weatherspoon, art teacher and sister of founding President Charles Duncan McIver. It was...
    • [Aerial view of Greensboro at dusk]

    • 2001
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Aerial view of the Greensboro skyline at dusk, with campus in the foreground, in the early 2000s. The Petty Building can be seen in the center left and the Spencer Residence Hall in the lower left hand corner. The Petty building, designed by W. C....
    • [Day Students' Lounge in Elliott Hall]

    • 1955
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Students read, play cards, and smoke cigarettes in the Day Students Lounge in the Elliott Student Union during the 1950s. This building, designed by Northrup O’Brien of Winston-Salem, North Carolina, was named in 1952 in honor of Harriet Wiseman...
    • [Students Anniversary Plaza]

    • 1968-09
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This September 1968 photograph shows the Students Anniversary Plaza on the corner of College Avenue and Spring Garden Street which housed the University Bell. In 1967, on the occasion of the University’s 75th anniversary, the student body voted...
    • [Mary Foust Residence Hall]

    • 1945
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the main entrance of the Mary Foust Residence Hall, located on College Avenue in the 1940s.
    • [Foust Building fountain]

    • 1961-06
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This June 1961 photograph shows the fountain in front of the Foust Building. A portion of McIver Building can be seen in the background. The fountain was created in 1897 as the center point of a carriage turn in front of Main Building. When the...
    • [Mary Foust Residence Hall]

    • 1973
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the entrance to the Mary Foust Residence Hall, circa 1973 as it appeared in Bricks and People.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK