Skip to main content
UNCG Logo

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: demolished
(36 results)



Display: 20

    • [Bridge over Walker Avenue]

    • 1949
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of three women observing the area around the bridge before it was demolished around 1949. "Bridge over Walker Ave, ca. 1949, shortly before its' destruction. Walker Ave. was closed across campus in Sept. 1948 and the bridge was...
    • [Demolition of Walker Avenue]

    • 1949
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of a man on a bulldozer working on tearing up the road. "Walker Avenue divided the campus until 1948. It was closed in 1948 from Forest Street to McIver Street to provide space for Walter Clinton Jackson Library and Stone Building (Home...
    • [Brown Music Building Annex breezeway]

    • 1966-10
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photography of the breezeway between the Brown Music Building and the Annex taken in 1966. The Taylor building can be seen in the background. The Annex was constructed in 1966 as additional space for the Brown Music Building. It was demolished in...
    • [New lobby of Wesley Long Hospital]

    • 1947
    • Martin Studio Collection
    • The opening of a new front section of Wesley Long Hospital at 338 N. Elm St. The hospital had started in a former residence with additions gradually added on at the back. Finally, the house was demolished and a new front section was built. The...
    • [Nurses in new lobby of Wesley Long Hospital]

    • 1947
    • Martin Studio Collection
    • The opening of a new front section of Wesley Long Hospital at 338 N. Elm St. The hospital had started in a former residence with additions gradually added on at the back. Finally, the house was demolished and a new front section was built. The...
    • [Interior St. Leo's Hospital bathroom]

    • 1950-05-20
    • Martin Studio Collection
    • May 20, 1950. 9:30 a.m. Photo shows an empty hospital room, with the sink and toilet featured. St. Leo's, a Catholic hospital at the corner of Summit and Bessemer Avenues, was only three or four years from closing because of the 1953 opening of...
    • [Interior St. Leo's Hospital examining room]

    • 1950-05-20
    • Martin Studio Collection
    • May 20, 1950. 9:30 a.m. Photo shows an operating room and examining bed and equipment. St. Leo's, a Catholic hospital at the corner of Summit and Bessemer Avenues, was only three or four years from closing because of the 1953 opening of Moses H....
    • [Hotel Clegg]

    • 1903
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of the Hotel Clegg, located at 358-368 South Elm Street in Greensboro. The hotel opened in 1891 and was demolished in 1961.

      Image taken from "Progressive Greensboro: The Gate City of North Carolina"
    • Elm Street front [Hotel Clegg]

    • 1908
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of the Hotel Clegg, located at 358-368 South Elm Street in Greensboro. The hotel opened in 1891 and was demolished in 1961.

      Image taken from "Commercial history of the State of North Carolina"
    • Interior of office and lobby [Hotel Clegg]

    • 1908
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Interior of office and lobby of the Hotel Clegg, located at 358-368 South Elm Street in Greensboro. The hotel opened in 1891 and was demolished in 1961.

      Image taken from "Commercial history of the State of North Carolina"
    • [Price School scrapbook, 1922-1984]

    • 1922-1984
    • Mss. Coll. 142 A.H. Peeler Papers
    • This scrapbook documents the history of the J.C. Price Elementary School in the Warnersville community of Greensboro, North Carolina. The school opened in 1922 as am educational facility for African American children during segregation. Abraham...
    • Progress for 1959

    • 1960
    • Guilford Vertical Files (Greensboro Public Library)
    • This report describes the urban renewal activities of the Redevelopment Commission of Greensboro across multiple locations in the city. Such activities include the Cumberland and Warnersville Projects by which housing and commercial areas of the...
    • O. Henry Hotel enevelope

    • 1970
    • CC021 David Gwynn [Personal collection]
    • Envelope from the original O.Henry Hotel at Elm and Bellemeade Streets in Greensboro. The hotel was demolished in 1979.
    • Displays at Cheap Joe's Texas Jeans store

    • 1985
    • CC021 David Gwynn [Personal collection]
    • Clothing displays at Cheap Joe's Texas Jeans, a chain of stores that operated in North and South Carolina. The Carolina Circle Mall store closed around 1988, and the entire mall has since been demolished.
    • Displays at Cheap Joe's Texas Jeans store

    • 1985
    • CC021 David Gwynn [Personal collection]
    • Clothing displays at Cheap Joe's Texas Jeans, a chain of stores that operated in North and South Carolina. The Carolina Circle Mall store closed around 1988, and the entire mall has since been demolished.
    • Displays at Cheap Joe's Texas Jeans store

    • 1985
    • CC021 David Gwynn [Personal collection]
    • Clothing displays at Cheap Joe's Texas Jeans, a chain of stores that operated in North and South Carolina. The Carolina Circle Mall store closed around 1988, and the entire mall has since been demolished.
    • Displays at Cheap Joe's Texas Jeans store

    • 1985
    • CC021 David Gwynn [Personal collection]
    • Clothing displays at Cheap Joe's Texas Jeans, a chain of stores that operated in North and South Carolina. The Carolina Circle Mall store closed around 1988, and the entire mall has since been demolished.
    • Displays at Cheap Joe's Texas Jeans store

    • 1985
    • CC021 David Gwynn [Personal collection]
    • Clothing displays at Cheap Joe's Texas Jeans, a chain of stores that operated in North and South Carolina. The Carolina Circle Mall store closed around 1988, and the entire mall has since been demolished.
    • [Aerial view of campus]

    • 1935
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Aerial view of campus after Old Guilford was demolished in 1935. Spring Garden Street runs diagonally on the left; Walker Avenue diagonal on the right. In the upper right hand corner is the Quadrangle along with the Dining Halls Complex and Spencer...
    • [Aerial view of campus]

    • 1935
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Aerial view of campus after Old Guilford was demolished in 1935. In the upper left hand corner the Steam Plant and Curry Building (Spring Garden Street) can be seen and in the upper left is the Quadrangle. Photo by Frank Turgson, Jr.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK