Skip to main content
UNCG Logo

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: approximately
(48 results)



Display: 20

    • Boar and Castle order pad

    • 1980
    • CC021 David Gwynn [Personal collection]
    • Order pad from the Boar and Castle drive-in on West Market Street in Greensboro. The drive-in closed approximately 1980 and was torn down approximately 1981.
    • [Cigarette Card, Dame Ellen Terry]

    • Undated
    • MSS255 Robert C. Hansen Performing Arts Collection
    • Cigarette card featuring Dame Ellen Terry (1847-1928) in the role of Marguerite from "Faust." The card is in color and is approximately 1.25" x 2.25". It was issued by John Player & Sons.
    • BSC Supports Strike

    • 1970-12-04
    • The Guilfordian (Civil Rights Clippings)
    • This December 4, 1970 article published in the Guilford College student newspaper, The Guilfordian, reports on the college's Black Student Coalition's efforts to raise awareness about the work conditions of blind workers, approximately half of...
    • [Photograph of Benjamin L. Smith]

    • 1940
    • RL.01210 Benjamin Lee Smith Papers
    • This photograph of Benjamin L. Smith is inscribed on the back "Startown Farm Life School, 1916-1917." The school was located in Catawba County, North Carolina, and Smith was approximately twenty-three years old at the time the photograph was taken.
    • [Letter from UNCG Chancellor Ferguson to Dr. John Griffin]

    • 1969-12-16
    • UA2.8 Chancellor James Sharbrough Ferguson Records
    • In this December 16, 1969, letter, University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG) Chancellor James Sharbrough Ferguson expresses his support for a December, 1969, proposal for a racial awareness training program aimed at the faculty and staff of...
    • W.C. informer [number 5]

    • 1946-03-17
    • UA108.2 University Archives Subject Files
    • The fifth issue of W.C. Informer discusses an incident in Columbia, Tennessee, in which a black veteran and a white fought over an insult to the veteran's mother. Afterward, a group of fifty to seventy-five whites stormed the jail and roamed the...
    • A proposal for a racial awareness program

    • 1969-12
    • UA2.8 Chancellor James Sharbrough Ferguson Records
    • This December 1969, proposal for a racial awareness training program aimed at the faculty and staff of the University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG), was completed in light of charges of racial prejudice by members of the Upward Bound...
    • [First sample of Vicks VapoRub]

    • 1955
    • Mss. Coll. 55 Richardson-Vicks Collection
    • A photograph of a jar labeled "Our first sample, used approximately 1902."
    • Recognition Day -- Printed -- Clippings [McDaniel Lewis papers]

    • 1946
    • Mss. Coll. 41 McDaniel Lewis Papers
    • This folder contains several newspaper clippings from the Greensboro¬†Daily News and Greensboro Record¬†detailing the planning, program, and review of the Veterans Recognition Day festivities on November 6, 1946. Planning began approximately a...
    • Benbow House and Elm Street, looking south

    • 1892
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of the Benbow House hotel, located at 122 South Elm Street in Greensboro. The hotel opened in 1871 and burned down in 1899. It was rebuilt as the Guilford Hotel on the same site after the fire. In approximately 1930, the Guilford...
    • [Benbow Hotel]

    • 1903
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of the Benbow House hotel, located at 122 South Elm Street in Greensboro. The hotel opened in 1871 and burned down in 1899. It was rebuilt as the Guilford Hotel on the same site after the fire. In approximately 1930, the Guilford...
    • [Guilford Hotel]

    • 1903
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • The Hotel Guilford was built on the site of the former Benbow Hotel following an 1899 fire. In approximately 1930, the hotel was replaced by the F.W. Woolworth store where the first "sit-ins" of the civil rights movement occurred in 1960. That...
    • Library

    • 1908
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of the Carnegie Public Library, located at Library Place (now Commerce Place) and West Gaston Street (now West Friendly Avenue) in Greensboro. The library opened in 1902 and relocated to the former First Presbyterian Church on Church...
    • Guilford Hotel rotunda and offive

    • 1910
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Interior view of the Hotel Guilford, located at 120-122 South Elm Street in Greensboro. The Hotel Guilford was built on the site of the former Benbow Hotel following an 1899 fire. In approximately 1930, the hotel was replaced by the F.W. Woolworth...
    • Guilford Hotel dining room

    • 1910
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Interior view of the Hotel Guilford, located at 120-122 South Elm Street in Greensboro. The Hotel Guilford was built on the site of the former Benbow Hotel following an 1899 fire. In approximately 1930, the hotel was replaced by the F.W. Woolworth...
    • Public Library, Greensboro

    • 1924
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of the Carnegie Library, located at Library Place (now Commerce Place) in Greensboro. The library opened in 1902 and relocated to the former First Presbyterian Church on Church Street (now Summit Avenue) in approximately 1937. The...
    • Guilford Hotel

    • 1917
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of the Hotel Guilford, located at South Elm Street and West Sycamore Street (now February One Place) in Greensboro. The Hotel Guilford was built on the site of the former Benbow Hotel following an 1899 fire. In approximately 1930, the...
    • Public Library

    • 1917
    • Greensboro Pictorials Collection
    • Exterior view of the Carnegie Library, located at Library Place (now Commerce Place) in Greensboro. The library opened in 1902 and relocated to the former First Presbyterian Church on Church Street (now Summit Avenue) in approximately 1937. The...
    • South Drive-In flier

    • 1978
    • CC021 David Gwynn [Personal collection]
    • Instructional flier for operating sound at the South Drive-In Theatre on High Point Road (now West Gate City Boulevard) and Merrit Drive. The theatre closed approximately 1978 and was torn down in 1979.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK