Skip to main content
UNCG Logo

You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: Reconstruction.The
(27 results)



Display: 20

    • [College Avenue]

    • 1922
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • Looking down College Avenue, circa 1922. On the left is the Students' Building and Spencer residence hall. On the right is the Carnegie Library and Old Curry. College Avenue was designed in the early 1900s by landscape architect Warren Henry...
    • [Spencer Residence Hall]

    • 1995
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • North Spencer Hall entrance, which is on College Avenue, to the Dining Hall, as seen circa 1995. The Spencer Residence Hall, designed by W. C. Holleyman of Greensboro, North Carolina, consists of two connecting building; North Spencer Residence...
    • [Spencer Residence Hall]

    • 1940
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This photograph shows the Spencer Residence Hall with the Dining Halls in the background in the 1940s. The Spencer Residence Hall, designed by W. C. Holleyman of Greensboro, North Carolina, consists of two connecting building; North Spencer...
    • [College Avenue]

    • 1911
    • MSS303 Catharine Holmes Jones Scrapbooks, 1905 - 1912
    • College Avenue, facing north, circa 1911. South Spencer Residence Hall is visible on the left, and the Curry Building is on the right. College Avenue was designed in the early 1900s by landscape architect Warren Henry Manning to be the central...
    • [North Carolina State Normal and Industrial College Campus]

    • 1911
    • MSS303 Catharine Holmes Jones Scrapbooks, 1905 - 1912
    • View of campus showing the Students' Building, Spencer Residence Hall, and the Library with snow covering the ground. The cornerstone of the Students’ Building was laid in 1902. Contributions from students, faculty, and visiting speakers allowed...
    • [Interior of Carnegie Library]

    • 1923
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • The main lobby of the Carnegie Library, pictured in 1923, after the expansion. The back of photo reads "Main lobby, looking toward stacks. Cabinet to left once used for periodicals, but not suitable, so shelves were arranged in room to left. (Per.)...
    • [Students in Carnegie Library]

    • 1913
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • This 1913 photograph shows students in the Carnegie Library reading newspapers and writing.
    • [Forney Building]

    • 1950
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This 1950 photograph shows Carnegie Library from College Avenue. This building, a gift of steel baron Andrew Carnegie, was designed by Hook & Sawyer of Charlotte. It opened in 1905 as the Carnegie Library. The building was partially destroyed by...
    • [Forney Building]

    • 1959
    • UA103 Negatives Collection
    • This photograph shows cars parked outside of Forney Building in 1959. This building, designed by Hook & Sawyer of Charlotte, opened in 1905 as the Carnegie Library, and was expanded in 1922. The building was partially destroyed by fire on September...
    • [Forney Building]

    • 1990
    • UA106 Slides Collection
    • This photograph shows the Forney Building in the 1990s. This building, designed by Hook & Sawyer of Charlotte, opened in 1905 as the Carnegie Library, and was expanded in 1922. The building was partially destroyed by fire on September 15, 1932, and...
    • [Carnegie Library]

    • 1905
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the Carnegie Library in 1905.
    • [Carnegie Library]

    • 1913
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the Carnegie Library as it appeared in 1913. The photograph was used in the 1913 issues of the Carolinian of page fifty-one.
    • [Back of Carnegie Library]

    • 1913
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the back of the Carnegie Library, circa 1913. The Students Building can be seen in the background across College Avenue.
    • [Carnegie Library]

    • 1936
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • A photograph of the entrance to the Carnegie Library, after its expansion, taken in the 1930s. The building was enlarged in 1923, and is shown after it was repaired due to damage by fire in 1932.
    • [Carnegie Library]

    • 1950
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the Carnegie Library in 1950. The building is shown here after expansion in 1923, with awnings on the second story windows.
    • [Carnegie Library]

    • 1940
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the Carnegie Library as seen from across College Avenue in 1940. The photograph appeared in Pine Needles 1940 on page eight, and Pine Needles 1943 on page 183.
    • [Carnegie Library]

    • 1955
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Three students walking outside the Carnegie Library in 1955.
    • [Forney Building]

    • 1990
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Photograph of the entrance to the Forney Building, circa 1990.
    • [Forney Building]

    • 2001-07-01
    • UA104 Photographic Prints Collection
    • Entrance to the Forney Building photographed on July 1, 2001.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK