Martin's Studio Collection
The Martin’s Studio Collection is a an extensive photographic archive of well over 300,000 images. Primarily 4x5 inch negatives, the collection also includes a small number of prints and business papers. Chronologically the bulk of the collection dates from the studio’s founding in 1947 until its close in 1992. Of particular interest to Textiles, Teachers, and Troops visitors is the fact that Carol Martin (1911-1993) was the first full time paid professional photographer for the Greensboro Daily News when he arrived in January 1938. When he left the newspaper to open his own business he took with him a wealth of photographs he took while the staff photographer.
The World War II images on this website obviously date to his local photojournalism career. Many of the post-1947 images of business, on the other hand, were probably taken by his partner, Malcolm A. Miller (1917- 2008). Tex, as he was known, was a self-trained photographer who learned his craft from classes at YMCA at White Oak Cotton Mill , and from a backyard chicken-coop-turned-darkroom he built at the family home in the Revolution Mill village.
Not all items from this collection, or even this time period, have been digitized.
For additional information about the collection, including information about two books published about the Martin’s Studio Collection visit this Museum’s Archives page.
Explore digitized items from this collection