The State Normal and Industrial School, now The University of North Carolina at Greensboro, opened its practice and observation school in 1893 with ten pupils ages five to eight. In 1902, the College opened a new building to house the practice school and named it for Jabez Lamar Monroe Curry, who gave financial aid to the institution in its early years. The Curry School provided practical experience for student teachers and served as the neighborhood school for the area surrounding the campus.
With a student body made up of a disproportionate number of children of University faculty and staff, Curry School's curriculum was fairly rigorous with many classes being taught by professors at the University. A 2010 article in UNCG Magazine notes that Curry School placed a greater emphasis on writing and college preparatory material than public schools of the day, and it was described in a 1998 article in the Greensboro News & Record as having been "the perfect charter school."
While Curry School was initially composed of all grades, the high school was discontinued through much of the 1920s. It was restored in 1926/27 and remained in operation until 1969. The entire school closed in 1970.
The Curry Schoolyearbook collection contains the following titles:
- Ins and Outs, published in 1917
- Blue Lights, published in 1949
- Milestones, published in 1950
- Phantom, published from 1951 to 1969
Twenty-two volumes are reproduced here in digital format, scanned from copies held in the Martha Blakeney Hodges Special Collections and University Archives. Several issues have advertisements missing as these were clipped out of the original source material.
Browse all yearbooks
Browse by date:
More about the project